Sunday, April 28, 2013

Wisconsinite Four-Peat? It's Guaranteed if No. 4 Seed Penn State Loses in the Semis

Let's review the last three NCAA Division I/II Men's National Champions and their Wisconsin connections:
  • 2010: Stanford wins with Wisconsinite Garrett Werner (Nicolet '06)
  • 2011: Ohio State wins with Wisconsinites Peter Heinen (Milwaukee Marquette '10) and Nick Gibson (Shorewood '09)
  • 2012: UC-Irvine wins with Wisconsinite Jeremy Dejno (New Berlin United '10)
In 2013, it's going to be either #1 seed BYU with Philip Fuchs (Brookfield East '09), #2 seed UC-Irvine with the aforementioned Jeremy Dejno, #3 seed Loyola with Nick Olson (New Berlin United '12), Peter Hutz (Milwaukee Marquette '12) and Trevor Novotny (Catholic Memorial '12) or #4 Penn State (with, er, no Wisconsinites).

Go BYU, UC-Irvine and Loyola.

No comments: